HomePoliticsCongress President poll: 'I will contest,' says Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot

Congress President poll: ‘I will contest,’ says Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Friday stated that he will probably be contesting the upcoming Congress Presidential election. in a video, Gehlot was seen saying, “It is determined that I will contest (for the publish of Congress President). I will repair the date quickly (to file his nomination)”.

On Rahul Gandhi’s assertion concerning “One Individual, One Publish” Gehlot, who’s the chief minister of Rajasthan at current, stated the onus to resolve is on Congress Normal Secretary Ajay Maken and Celebration chief Sonia Gandhi.

He added {that a} sturdy opposition is required within the nation to problem Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP authorities. And he additionally stated it doesn’t impacts him who would be the new Congress chief, what issues is the occasion turns into stronger at floor degree.

Gehlot, who’s in Kerala to participate within the Bharat Jodo Yatra, stated, “I stated earlier that I’ll request him (Rahul Gandhi) to simply accept this publish when all of the Congress Committees are passing resolutions on this regard. He made it clear that nobody from the Gandhi household will turn out to be the subsequent chief. He stated he has determined this as a consequence of some causes, a non-Gandhi member of the family will turn out to be the occasion chief”.

At current, stories are Gehlot and Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor will probably be contesting in opposition to every for the publish of recent President of Congress. He met Congress Central Election Authority chief Madhusudan Mistry on Wednesday.

Congress’ presidential post-election will probably be held on October 17 and the election outcomes can be declared on October 19. The nomination course of for the publish of Congress president will start on September 24 and conclude on September 30.

The upcoming ballot would definitely be historic as the brand new president would change Sonia Gandhi, the longest-serving occasion president who has been on the helm since 1998, barring the 2 years between 2017 and 2019 when Rahul Gandhi took over.

The occasion final noticed a contest for the publish in November 2000. Jitendra Prasada had misplaced to Sonia Gandhi in 2000 and previous to that Sitaram Kesri had defeated Sharad Pawar and Rajesh Pilot in 1997.

Catch all of the Politics News and Updates on Dwell Mint.
Obtain The Mint News App to get Day by day Market Updates & Dwell Business News.


Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a legitimate electronic mail

* Thanks for subscribing to our publication.

Post your comment

Source link

- Advertisment -

Most Popular